Nikola Tesla: getting to know the man who is behind it all

Image

Nikola Tesla, a Serbian- American inventor worked for Thomas Edison in the beginning of his career. He fixed motors and DC generators. However, when he asked Edison for a compensation for all his contribution, Edison laughed and said,” Tesla, you don’t understand our American humor.”

Tesla went to work on his alternating current electrical system and disappointed Edison, who was promoting on his direct electrical system. Comparing both, the former had system  only require thinner wires and could transmit electricity in far places. The latter need a power plant in every square mile and could only transport electricity in nearby places.

Families near Edison’s laboratory noticed that their pets were missing. This was because Edison paid schoolboys 25 cents a head for live dogs and cats. He then electrocuted these animals using Tesla’s alternating current, so that it can make it seem to people that the latter’s invention is not suitable for home use.

Marconi, the Nobel Prize winner for his invention of the radio simply based his work on Tesla’s inventions.  As stated by Tesla, he said “Marconi is a good fellow. Let him continue. He is using seventeen of my patents.”

On the lighter side of things, let’s talk about Tesla’s love life. Well, this guy focused his time and energy on innovations for the greater good. He somewhat found love in a hopeless place.  As quoted below:

“I have been feeding pigeons, thousands of them for years.  But there was one pigeon, a beautiful bird, pure white with light gray tips on its wings; that one was different.  It was a female. I would know that pigeon anywhere. No matter, where I was that pigeon would find me, when I wanted here I had only to wish and call her she would come flying to me. She understood me and I understood her.

I loved that pigeon.

Yes, I loved her as a man loves a woman, and she loves me. “

Above all, this guy is an absolute genius. No fuss, just pure science.

Leave a Reply

